News Update


Header Ads Widget

APC Candidate Defeats PDP, Others At The Lagos By-Election Today.

Mr. Noheem Adams of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Saturday defeated eight opponents to emerge winner of the Eti-Osa Constituency I bye-election in Lagos State.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Oyeyemi Oyedola, made the declaration at the votes collation centre, Lagos State Model Nursery and Primary School, Eti-Osa Local Government Area, where he said that Adams polled 4,204 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Arubiewe Abogun of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 1,652 votes.
According to Oyedola, Action Alliance had 10 votes, Alliance for Democracy, 128 votes; Better Nigeria’s Peoples Party, five; Democratic Alliance, one and Progressive Peoples Alliance eight votes.
He added that United Democratic Party polled two votes, while New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) secured five votes.
According to Oyedola, a total number of registered voters was 183,551, accredited voters, 6,280; valid votes, 6,015 and rejected votes, 154, while the total votes cast was 6,169.
He said that the percentage turnout of voters was 3.42 per cent.
”I, Prof. Oyeyemi Elijah Oyedola, hereby certify that I was the Returning Officer for the Eti-Osa Constituency 1 bye-election held on Sept. 30, 2017

”That the election was contested; that Mr Adams Noheem Babatunde of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected, ” he said at 10.10 p.m.

Post a Comment