9TH NATIONAL ASSEMBLY: Yahaya Bello Congratulates Ahmed Lawan, Omo-Agege, Gbajabiamila, Wase on their Emergence.

Yahaya Bello & others congratulating Gbajabiamila.

Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello has congratulated the Senator representing Yobe North, Senator Ahmed Lawan, on his emergence as President of the Senate and Chairman of the 9th National Assembly.

The governor also congratulated the senator representing Delta Central Senatorial District, Ovie Omo-Agege who emerged as Deputy Senate President. 

In a statement personally signed by him, Governor Bello said: “On behalf of the Government and People of Kogi State, I congratulate Distinguished Senator Ahmed Lawan, the new Senate President and Chairman of the National Assembly and his Deputy, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege. 

“Their emergence not only reaffirms the primacy of the popular will, it also underlines our collective preference as a party for a credible legislature which will work for Nigerians. Our confidence in Senator Ahmed Lawan’s capacity and competence to lead it is massive.”

Lawan emerged winner on Tuesday morning after polling 79 votes to defeat Senator Ali Ndume who scored 28 votes while senator Omo-Agege polled 68 Votes to defeat his rival, the former Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu who scored 37 Votes.

In a separate letter, the governor also congratulated the former Majority Leader in the 8th national assembly, Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila who emerged the Speaker of the House of Representatives in the 9th National Assembly. Gbajabiamila bested his rival Honourable Mohammed Umar Bago with a total of 281 votes to the latter's 76 votes.

Applauding the victory, Bello praised the All Progressives Congress party's doggedness in putting up a united front in line with the governing party's ideology. 'Credit must also go to our overall leader, President Muhammadu Buhari for his steadfast impartiality and fatherly roles while the various aspirants to leadership of both Chambers in the National Assembly jostled for advantage. This is the time for the National Assembly to genuinely consolidate on the next level of change promised to Nigerians.'