News Update


Header Ads Widget

Why Gbenga Omotoso, Akin Abayomi, Bolaji Dada, 14 Others Failed Lagos Assembly Screening As Commissioners.

Omotoso. Dada, Abayomi.

Precious Eze’s Blog” had reported earlier that the Lagos State House of Assembly yesterday, rejected the nomination of 17 out of the 39 names sent to her by the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening as Commissioners, out of which 22 were confirmed.

This platform has obtained information as to led to the rejection by the Lagos lawmakers.

The Seventeen nominees were reportedly rejected during the confirmation which was done through a voice vote as Obasa mentioned the name of each of them including the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, whose case was an isolated one that breeds concern, given that he served in the first tenure of Governor of Sanwo-Olu’s administration to the admiration of many keen watchers.

“Another isolated case which concerns me, is that of Professor Akin Abayomi, the immediate past Commissioner for Health in Lagos. An astute professional who laid his life for Lagosians during the Covid-19 pandemic. Whatever may have led to this is a serious issue”.

Meanwhile speaking on the possible reason for failing the screening exercise, Aro Abiodun a lawmaker representing the Ikorodu Constituency II told The Punch that he could not speak for the House but only for his constituency.

Similarly, the chairman of the screening committee and Chief Whip of the House, Mojeed, simply said in a text message, “It was a decision of (all) 40 members (of the House).”
But in his analysis of the situation, a former member of the House who pleaded anonymity said such rejection could be for several reasons.

“A nominee may be rejected for several reasons. It may be for not having the (APC) party membership card or for presenting a controversial qualification. Other reasons could be security-related or criminal records, unexplained dismissal from office, among others.”
Asked if there would still be an opportunity for the rejected nominees to be cleared later, the ex-lawmaker said, “No. They won’t be cleared. The governor will have to send other names.”

Consequently, Gboyega Akosile, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu in a telephone conversation said, the outcome of the screening and confirmation had yet to be transmitted to the governor, hence the governor had yet to know the reason for the reported rejection of some nominees.

“Mr. Governor has not received it officially, but we are just hearing from the media. So, we will wait for when the Speaker transmits it to the governor, then we will know the appropriate reaction from the governor,” Akosile said.

The rejected nominees are: Folashade Adefisayo, Akin Abayomi, Yomi Oluyomi, Folashade Ambrose, Barakat Bakare, Gbenga Omotoso, Olalere Odusote, Rotimi Fashola, Bolaji Dada, Sam Egube, Olalekan Fatodu, Solape Hammond, Mosopefolu George, Aramide Adeyoye, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi, and Olumide Oluyinka.


Post a Comment