News Update


Header Ads Widget

EFCC Secures Conviction Of 41 Internet Fraudsters In Ogun State.

EFCC Headquaters

The Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) on Friday, said it has secured the conviction and sentencing of 41 internet fraudsters to various jail terms in Oyo and Ogun states.

According to a statement made available to journalists by the Head, Media and Publicity of the antigraft agency, Dele Oyewale, the fraudsters were jailed after pleading guilty to one -count each preferred against them.

Justices Ladiran Akintola and Adebukola Olajide of the Oyo State High Court sitting in Ibadan, Oyo State capital; Justices Abiodun Akinyemi, A.A. Babawale and B.B. Adebowale of the Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital; and Justice Uche Agomoh of the Federal High Court, Ibadan, jailed the 41 convicts.

According to the statement, “The convicts are Siyanbade Omobosola, Ilugbo Adekunle, Odude Michael, Aderounmu Michael, Oluwole Dare, Habeeblahi Akande, Ololade Olamide, Ibrahim Abayomi, Adewusi Adedeji, Afeez Jimoh, Peter Iyanuoluwa, Olatunde Abass, Alan-Oni Opeyemi, Adetunji Adeola and Ogunmola Micheal.

“Others are Ajayi Damilare, Cyril Oluwaseyi, Adekunle Solomon, Olalekan Miller, Oladipupo Falohun, Moboluwaduro Soetan, Ibikunle James, Olumoroti Segun, Fetuga Abiodun, Agbolade Oluwafemi , Felix Ayodele, Dauda Opeyemi, Adeife Oluwasegun, Agbe Abuo, Alonge Israel.

“The rest are Lasisi Ayobami, Olakode Ibrahim, Ogundiya Olajide, Emmanuel Peter, Ayanmo Wasiu, Daud Temidayo, Hammed Ola, Adenuga Lekan, Ibrahim Olasumbo, Adekunle Olamilekan and Monday Patrick.”

The statement explained further that upon their arraignments, they all pleaded “guilty” to the one count when it was read to them individually.

“Consequently, facts of the cases were reviewed by the prosecution as they prayed the courts to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.

“The courts, having listened to the submissions and prayers of the prosecution and defence counsels, convicted and sentenced Patrick, Olasumbo, Lekan, Ola, Temidayo, Olajide, Ibrahim, Ayobami, Israel, James, Soetan, Solomon and Oluwaseyi to one-year imprisonment each while Olamilekan was sentenced to nine months jail term and Falohun to ten months imprisonment.

“Also, Wasiu, Peter, Oluwafemi, Abiodun and Olumoroti bagged three months imprisonment each but Oluwafemi, Abiodun and Olumoroti were given the option of N50,000.00 (Fifty Thousand Naira) fine each in lieu of their sentence.

“Similarly, Oluwasegun, Opeyemi, Ayodele, Damilare, Micheal, Adeola, Opeyemi, Abass, Iyanuoluwa, Jimoh, Adedeji, Abayomi, Olamide, Akande, Michael, Adekunle, and Omobosola were convicted and sentenced to six months community service each as Adekunle and Omobosola got a N50,000.00 (Fifty Thousand Naira) and N100,000.00 (One Hundred Thousand Naira) fine alongside their sentences respectively.”

In addition, the statement stated, “The courts also convicted and sentenced Abuo, Miller, Dare and Michael to three months community service each but Abuo got a N50,000.00 fine in lieu of his sentence while Michael was to pay a fine of N30k alongside his sentence.

“The convicts were ordered to restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria, including a green colour Toyota Highlander with Registration Number: LSD – 400 – GX and one sky blue colour Toyota Camry with Registration Number: DG – 453 – FT.

“All the 41 convicts bagged their imprisonment when they were arrested by operatives of the EFCC for internet-related offences. They were investigated, prosecuted and convicted.”

Post a Comment